Southampton Astronomy

Compact Objects and Time Domain Astronomy

Astronomy Group Seminar Programme

(Monday Lunchtime Talks)

By default, seminars take place at 12:00 on Mondays, in the Physics Seminar Room.


Next lunch talk:

Mon 08 Jun 2020 - Marta Venanzi (Southampton)
TBC

Full talk list below:

Mon 23 Sep 2019 - Kiley Yeakel (John Hopkins APL)
Artificial Intelligence for Space Science: Automated Science Data Classification on the Cassini Mission
Autumn term

Mon 30 Sep 2019 - Santiago del Palacio (Southampton)
Non-thermal emission from massive binaries
Mon 07 Oct 2019 - John Paice (Southampton)
X-ray/Optical Correlations and the Resolving of Jet Activity in MAXI J1820+070
Mon 14 Oct 2019 - Zahir Shah (IUCAA, India)
Flux distribution study of Fermi bright blazars and simulated light curves
Mon 21 Oct 2019 - Frederico Vincentelli (Southampton)
Light Echoes in AGN
Mon 28 Oct 2019 - Tomás Müller (Southampton)
PISCoLA: Python for Interactive Supernova Cosmology Light-curve Analysis
Mon 04 Nov 2019 - Dale Weigt (Southampton)
Future exploration of Chandra observations of auroral emission during Juno apojove 2017
Mon 11 Nov 2019 - James Leftly (Southampton)
The Polar Dust in AGN
Mon 18 Nov 2019 - Angel Castro (Southampton)
Development of the triple-band optical system OPTICAM
Mon 25 Nov 2019 - Giulio Mancuso (Instituto Argentino de Radioastronomia/Southampton)
Thermonuclear burning on the neutron star surface: studying the transition between unstable and stable burning regimes
Note: Double Seminar
Mon 25 Nov 2019 - Dante Hewitt (University of Cape Town)
MeerKAT Observations of Novalike Cataclysmic Variables
Note: Double Seminar
Mon 02 Dec 2019 - Hugo Martel (Laval University, Québec City)
Formation of counter-rotating stars during gas-rich disc-disc mergers
Mon 09 Dec 2019 - No seminar
Spring term

Mon 06 Jan 2020 - Jakub Orwat-Kapola (Southampton)
Detection of anomalous objects in videos from smart cities" using computer vision"
Mon 13 Jan 2020 - Bella Boulderstone (Southampton)
Dust Reverberation Mapping of Low Redshift AGN
Mon 20 Jan 2020 - Brian Luff (Southampton)
Progress in the Classification of Dipping LMXBs
Mon 27 Jan 2020 - Alessandra Costantino (Southampton)
TBC
Mon 03 Feb 2020 - David Price (Southampton)
Developing a novel technique to observe and measure neutral heating associated with the electrodynamics of an auroral arc
Mon 10 Feb 2020 - No Seminar (TBC)
TBC
Mon 17 Feb 2020 - James Waters (Southampton)
Multi-decadal observations of auroral kilometric radiation (AKR)
Mon 24 Feb 2020 - Lorenzo Zanisi (Southampton)
Seminar Cancelled
Mon 02 Mar 2020 - Edward Parkinson (Southampton)
TBC
Mon 09 Mar 2020 - Hao Fu (Southampton)
Unlocking the synergy between CMB spectral distortions and anisotropies
Mon 16 Mar 2020 - Ella Guise (Southampton)
TBC
Mon 23 Mar 2020 - No seminar
Note: SEMINARS RETURNING REMOTELY ON MS TEAMS
Wed 08 Apr 2020 - Phil Wiseman (Southampton)
Host Galaxies of Rapidly Evolving Transients in the Dark Energy Survey
Wed 15 Apr 2020 - Pip Grylls (Southampton)
TBC
Summer term

Wed 22 Apr 2020 - John Coxon (Southampton)
TBC
No Seminar

Mon 04 May 2020 - Tadhg Garton (Southampton)
TBC
Mon 11 May 2020 - Dominic Ashton (Southampton)
TBC
Mon 18 May 2020 - Norman Khan (Southampton)
TBC
Mon 25 May 2020 - No seminar
Note: PUBLIC HOLIDAY
Mon 01 Jun 2020 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Mon 08 Jun 2020 - Marta Venanzi (Southampton)
TBC

For more information, contact P.S.Wiseman@sotonsoton

Information and directions for speakers

View seminars from other years