Southampton Astronomy

Compact Objects and Time Domain Astronomy

Astronomy Group Seminar Programme

(Monday Lunchtime Talks)

By default, seminars take place at 12:00 on Mondays, in the Physics Seminar Room.


Next lunch talk:


Full talk list below:

Autumn term

Mon 02 Oct 2017 - Judith Ineson (Southampton)
Blast from the past - can we use the properties of distant radio galaxies to build samples of high redshift galaxy groups?
Mon 09 Oct 2017 - Ra'ad Mahmoud (Durham)
Modelling the energy dependence of BHB flows
Mon 16 Oct 2017 - Pragati Pradhan (Penn State)
Exploring transient detections with the WFI onboard Athena
Mon 23 Oct 2017 - David Williamson (Southampton)
Polar IR emission in AGNs: the 'torus' as a dusty wind
Mon 30 Oct 2017 - Jiachen Jiang (IoA)
The 1.5Ms observing campaign on IRAS 13224-3809: X-ray spectral analysis
Mon 06 Nov 2017 - Szymon Prajs (Southampton)
Transient classification using neutral networks
Mon 13 Nov 2017 - Peter Boorman,Southampton,Brave NuLANDS for hidden active galactic nuclei" ()
Mon 20 Nov 2017 - Bailey Tetarenko (University of Alberta")
Constraining the physics of the dynamic accretion flows in compact binary systems
Mon 27 Nov 2017 - Rory Brown (Southampton)
The Be-musing Be-haviour of Be stars
Mon 04 Dec 2017 - Philip Grylls (Southampton)
Connecting dark matter structure to the observable galaxy population
Mon 11 Dec 2017 - Miika Pursiainen (Southampton)
Rapidly evolving optical transients in the Dark Energy Survey
Spring term

Mon 08 Jan 2018 - Victoria Lepingwell (Southampton)
Machine Learning in High Energy Astronomy Surveys
Mon 15 Jan 2018 - Jamie Court (Southampton)
The propeller effect: a transition in a bursting pulsar?
Mon 22 Jan 2018 - Shane Davis (University of Virginia)
How black holes dine above the Eddington 'limit' without overeating or excessive belching
Thu 01 Mar 2018 - Steve Browett (Southampton)
Effect of magnetospheric convection timescales on magnetotail flux rope core field
Mon 05 Feb 2018 - Andy Smith (Southampton)
Evaluating single spacecraft observations of planetary megnetotails with simple monte carlo simulations
Mon 12 Feb 2018 - Julia Alfonso Garzon (INTA-CSIC)
Long-term optical and X-ray variability of the Be/X-ray binary H1145-619
Mon 19 Feb 2018 - Michael Johnson (Southampton)
Michael Johnson and the big survey telescope
Mon 26 Feb 2018 - Will Alston (IoA)
Understanding the inner accretion region using fast X-ray variability
Mon 05 Mar 2018 - Sadie Jones (Southampton)
Four Years of Online Engagement with UK Schools: The ‘SETI Cipher Challenge’
Mon 12 Mar 2018 - Noel Castro Segura (Southampton)
Optical spectroscopy of Blazars
Summer term

Mon 16 Apr 2018 - Marta Venanzi (Southampton)
Dusty winds in AGN
Mon 23 Apr 2018 - Laurence Blacketer (Southampton (Aero + Astro))
Space Debris and Light Curves
Mon 30 Apr 2018 - Aru Beri (Southampton)
X-ray observations of very faint X-ray transients (VFXRTs) versus bright X-ray transients
Mon 07 May 2018 - No seminar
Note: PUBLIC HOLIDAY
Mon 14 May 2018 - John Paice (Southampton)
The Mysterious Case of Swift J1357.2-0933 - A High-Time Resolution and Multiwavelength Focus
Mon 21 May 2018 - Kevin Alabarta (Southampton)
Predicting the behaviour of BHXRBs outbursts. Failed outbursts vs Full outbursts
Mon 28 May 2018 - No seminar
Note: PUBLIC HOLIDAY
Mon 04 Jun 2018 - Bella Boulderstone (Southampton)
The Hot Dust in Type 1 AGN
Mon 11 Jun 2018 - Phil Wiseman (Southampton)
Gas infall and outflow in an interacting, high redshift galaxy as revealed by a bright gamma-ray burst

For more information, contact C.R.Angussoton

Information and directions for speakers

View seminars from other years