Southampton Astronomy

Compact Objects and Time Domain Astronomy

Astronomy Group Seminar Programme

(Tuesday Lunchtime Seminars)

By default, seminars take place at 13:00-14:30 (including lunch and coffee) on Tuesdays, in the Seminar Room (46/5081). Yellow flags in the list below indicate seminars which are happening outside of this usual routine, and red flags show Tuesdays on which seminars will not occur. For more information, contact astrosem@soton.ac.uk.


Next seminar:

Tue 11 May 2021 - Jay Johnson (Andrews University)
Field‐Aligned Currents in Auroral Vortices
Note change of time/venue: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in /var/www/astro/htdocs/seminars.html on line 133

Full seminar list below:

Autumn Term 2020

Tue 06 Oct 2020 - Astronomy Group (Southampton)
Jamboree
Tue 13 Oct 2020 - Gregoir Marcel (Vilanova University)
TBC
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Tue 20 Oct 2020 - No seminar
Tue 27 Oct 2020 - No seminar
Tue 03 Nov 2020 - Chiara Mazzucchelli (European Southern Observatory)
TBC
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Tue 10 Nov 2020 - T. Laskar (University of Bath)
Extreme astrophysics with relativistic transients
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Tue 17 Nov 2020 - Francisco Foster (Universidad de Chile)
The Universe in a Stream: Challenges and Progress of the ALeRCE Broker
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Tue 24 Nov 2020 - Simon Prentice (Trinity College Dublin)
What's new at the zoo? A summary of the extra-Galactic transient diversitys
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Tue 01 Dec 2020 - Cristina Ramos Almeida (International Astronomical Center)
TBC
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Tue 08 Dec 2020 - Beatriz Mingo (Open University)
TBC
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Mon 14 Dec 2020 - No seminar
Spring Term 2020

Tue 05 Jan 2021 - No seminar
Tue 12 Jan 2021 - Martin Archer (Imperial College London)
Researchers and public engagement: What role should I play to make a real difference?
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Tue 19 Jan 2021 - Chiara Mazzucchelli (European Southern Observatory)
Quasars in the Epoch of Reionization: Properties and Environment
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Tue 26 Jan 2021 - Daniele Michilli (McGill University)
Fast radio bursts: What they are and why we care
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams at 15:00 UK time
Tue 02 Feb 2021 - No seminar
Tue 09 Feb 2021 - Massimo Dotti (Universita' di Milano Bicocca)
Linking massive black-hole spin to gas dynamics
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Tue 16 Feb 2021 - Romeel Dave (University of Edinburgh )
Exploring AGN and Quenching in the Simba Simulation
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Tue 23 Feb 2021 - Omakshi Agiwal (Imperial College London)
The Contribution of Global Periodic Perturbation Systems towards Magnetic Reconnection at Saturn
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Tue 02 Mar 2021 - Vanessa McBride (University of Cape Town)
Massive X-ray binaries and related systems
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Tue 09 Mar 2021 - No seminar
Tue 16 Mar 2021 - Kaustubh Rajwade (University of Manchester)
TBC
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Tue 23 Mar 2021 - Harneet Sangha (University of Leicester)
An Investigation into Bifurcating Region 2 Field-Aligned Currents
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Tue 30 Mar 2021 - Fabrizio Nicastro (INAF)
An Astrophysicist Point of View of SARS-CoV-2: modeling the time-series of the Epidemics and using Solar photons to trigger Seasonality
Tue 13 Apr 2021 - Sara Motaghian (Natural History Museum)
Searching for life on Mars: Preparations for ExoMars 2022
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Tue 20 Apr 2021 - Emma Curtis Lake (Cambridge University)
TBC
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Tue 27 Apr 2021 - Dominika Wylezalek (Heidelberg University)
Observational signatures of AGN feedback across cosmic time
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Tue 04 May 2021 - No seminar
Tue 11 May 2021 - Jay Johnson (Andrews University)
Field‐Aligned Currents in Auroral Vortices
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Tue 18 May 2021 - No seminar
Tue 25 May 2021 - No seminar
Tue 01 Jun 2021 - YoRiS Talks ()
Tue 08 Jun 2021 - Abdu Zogbhi (Michigan University)
TDB
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams at 14 UK time
Tue 15 Jun 2021 - Miguel Querejeta (OAN)
Molecular gas and star formation in nearby galaxies
Note: to be held on Microsoft Teams
Tue 22 Jun 2021 - No seminar
Tue 29 Jun 2021 - No seminar
Tue 06 Jul 2021 - No seminar
Tue 13 Jul 2021 - No seminar
Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in /var/www/astro/htdocs/seminars.html on line 164

The old astrosem website is online here with details of seminars from previous academic years.

View seminars from other years