Southampton Astronomy

Compact Objects and Time Domain Astronomy

Astronomy Group Seminar Programme

(Tuesday Lunchime Seminars)

By default, seminars take place at 13:00-14:30 (including lunch and coffee) on Tuesdays, in the Physics Seminar Room.

Yellow flags in the list below indicate seminars which are happening outside of this usual routine, and red flags show Tuesdays on which seminars will not occur.

The old astrosem website is online here with details of seminars before the 2017-18 academic year.


Next seminar:

Tue 11 Sep 2018 - Simon Hodgkin (Cambridge)
Mapping the transient sky with Gaia

Full seminar list below:

Tue 11 Sep 2018 - Simon Hodgkin (Cambridge)
Mapping the transient sky with Gaia
Tue 18 Sep 2018 - Chris Fragile (Charleston)
Computational techniques and their applications in astrophysics
Autumn Term 2018

Tue 02 Oct 2018 - Astronomy Group (Southampton)
Jamboree
Tue 09 Oct 2018 - Samantha Penny (Portsmouth)
TBC
Tue 16 Oct 2018 - Leah Morabito (Oxford)
TBC
Tue 23 Oct 2018 - Chris Fowler (UC Berkeley)
MAVEN at Mars: new insights into the Martian ionosphere after nearly four years in orbit
Tue 30 Oct 2018 - Arianna Sorba (UCL)
Configuration and dynamics of Saturn's disc-like magnetosphere
Tue 06 Nov 2018 - Debora Sijacki (IoA)
Galaxy formation simulations: "sub-grid" vs. physics
Tue 13 Nov 2018 - Gareth Chisham (British Antarctic Survey)
Measuring ionospheric vorticity and field-aligned currents using HF radars
Tue 20 Nov 2018 - Robert Lyon (Manchester)
Data processing with the SKA - Machine learning at scale
Tue 27 Nov 2018 - Nathan Case (Lancaster)
IMF By-driven asymmetries in Earth's magnetotail
Tue 04 Dec 2018 - Patricia Schady (Bath)
TBC
Tue 11 Dec 2018 - Carolin Villforth (Bath)
TBC
Spring Term 2019

Tue 08 Jan 2019 - Ilse De Looze (UCL)
Dust formation in supernova remnants
Tue 15 Jan 2019 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 22 Jan 2019 - Graziella Branduardi-Raymont (UCL Mullard Space Science Laboratory)
SMILE: The Solar Wind Magnetosphere Ionosphere Link Explorer
Tue 29 Jan 2019 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 05 Feb 2019 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 12 Feb 2019 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 19 Feb 2019 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 26 Feb 2019 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 05 Mar 2019 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 12 Mar 2019 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 19 Mar 2019 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 26 Mar 2019 - TBC (TBC)
TBC

For more information, contact astrosemsoton.ac.uk

Information and directions for speakers

View seminars from other years