Southampton Astronomy

Compact Objects and Time Domain Astronomy

Astronomy Group Seminar Programme

(Tuesday Lunchtime Seminars)

By default, seminars take place at 13:00-14:30 (including lunch and coffee) on Tuesdays, in the Seminar Room (46/5081). Yellow flags in the list below indicate seminars which are happening outside of this usual routine, and red flags show Tuesdays on which seminars will not occur. For more information, contact astrosem@soton.ac.uk.


Next seminar:

Tue 26 Nov 2019 - Alasdair Thomson (Manchester)
TBC

Full seminar list below:

Autumn Term 2019

Tue 08 Oct 2019 - Astronomy Group (Southampton)
Jamboree
Thu 10 Oct 2019 - Brad Gibson (Hull)
Galaxy simulations: The good, the bad, and the ugly
Note: This seminar is at 2pm
Tue 15 Oct 2019 - No seminar
Tue 22 Oct 2019 - Nithin Sivadas (Boston University)
Energetic sources of visible aurora
Note: This seminar is in Physics Lecture Theatre C (46/2005)
Tue 29 Oct 2019 - Joe Eggington (Imperial College London)
Magnetopause reconnection and its ionospheric signatures in global magnetospheric simulations
Tue 05 Nov 2019 - Stephen Eales (Cardiff)
Submillimetre astronomy then and now
Tue 12 Nov 2019 - No seminar
Tue 19 Nov 2019 - Julien Malzac (IRAP-Toulouse)
The emission of compact jets powered by internal shocks
Tue 26 Nov 2019 - Alasdair Thomson (Manchester)
TBC
Tue 03 Dec 2019 - Joseph Lyman (Warwick)
TBC
Tue 10 Dec 2019 - No seminar
Spring Term 2020

Tue 07 Jan 2020 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 14 Jan 2020 - Sophie Murray (Trinity College Dublin)
Solar eruption forecasting
Tue 21 Jan 2020 - No seminar
Tue 28 Jan 2020 - Tana Joseph (Manchester)
TBC
Tue 04 Feb 2020 - Matt Nicholl (Birmingham)
TBC
Tue 11 Feb 2020 - Belinda Nicholson (Oxford)
TBC
Tue 18 Feb 2020 - Barbara De Marco (Nicolaus Copernicus Astronomical Center)
TBC
Tue 25 Feb 2020 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 03 Mar 2020 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 10 Mar 2020 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 17 Mar 2020 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Summer Term 2020

Tue 21 Apr 2020 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 28 Apr 2020 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 05 May 2020 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 12 May 2020 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 19 May 2020 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 26 May 2020 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 02 Jun 2020 - TBC (TBC)
TBC
Tue 09 Jun 2020 - TBC (TBC)
TBC

The old astrosem website is online here with details of seminars from previous academic years.

View seminars from other years